Something very strange and uncharacteristic happens every now and then in cricket that makes us sit up and take notice. One such incident happened during the first one-dayer in the India-England series that is in progress right now.
Sachin Tendulkar was batting and I don't remember who was bowling but the bizarre part happened when the ball neatly hit his stumps yet the bails remained rooted to their spot. They did not budge an inch!
And since the cricketing rules say that the bails need to be dislodged for a batsman to be declared out, Sachin was not out. Damn lucky and damn bizarre!
Here's the video. You can clearly see the ball hitting the batsman's stumps. Thanks to Amit for having uploaded the video.
And while you are at it here is another video I managed to rummage from Youtube showing various previous instances where the bails fail to come off inspite of the ball actually hitting the wickets (look from the 30 seconds position to 1 minute 30 seconds of the video). On one occasion the bails even jump up in the air but manage to settle back onto the stumps. The batsman was declared not-out. But you can clearly hear the commentator asking 'Isn't that out?' since the bails were actually dislodged before they settled back.
Truly bizarre. There is just so much that can happen in cricket. It is a beautifully complicated game.